The History Of The Brooklyn Dodgers

The Brooklyn Dodgers are among the most storied and varied teams in all of baseball history. Most famous for their second baseman, Jackie Robinson, breaking the color barrier in not simply baseball but each of professional sports, the Dodgers were one of the first teams to join the then-upstart National League. The Brooklyn Dodgers Baseball Club was founded in 1883 and joined the now-defunct American Association the next year; they won the American Association Pennant in 1889 and joined the National League in 1890.

Before one finally stuck; these were originally called the Brooklyn Atlantics, and later the Brooklyn Grays the Dodgers used a number of nicknames. The New York City press even took to calling them when many of the players had gotten married in quick succession the Brooklyn Bridegrooms. The group acquired the nickname Trolley Dodgers once they played at Eastern Park during the 1890s since the players and fans had difficulty opening the ballpark because of the scarce trolley lines in Brooklyn at time.

Early Dodger groups performed in two ballparksEastern Park and Washington Parkbefore they moved to Ebbets Field. They won National League Pennants in 1941, 1947, 1949, 1952, and 1953 and were beaten all five times by the New York Yankees. Hence, the immortal football motto Wait Till Next Year! Was created. The only Brooklyn Dodger group to actually win the World Series did so in 1955 at Yankee Stadium.

In 1902, Charles Ebbets went deeply into debt-to keep the Dodgers in Brooklyn. He invested heavily to change Washington Park using the appropriately-titled Ebbets Field, situated in the Crown Heights area of Brooklyn, which became the Dodgers home until their move to Los Angeles. Ebbets acquired parcels of land until he owned the complete block; Ebbets Field opened its gates on April 9, 1913. The team had limited success until person development master Branch Rickey was hired; then the Dodgers became a definite contender for the National League pennant. Ebbets Field hosted the 1949 All Star Game and the ballpark and the Dodgers move to La were presented within an entire episode of Ken Burnss acclaimed documentary, Baseball; additionally, Arthur Millers traditional American drama Death of a Salesman recommendations Ebbets Field. Ebbets Field was destroyed o-n February 23, 1960, following the Dodgers moved to La.

Probably the most famous and historically important part of the Brooklyn Dodgers was the breaking of the colour barrier with young, gifted Jackie Robinson. Winner of the first ever Rookie of the Year award and member of the Baseball Hall of Fame, Robinson ended almost 80 years-of segregation in baseball. Jackie Robinson attended UCLA and became the first Black athlete to earn varsity letters in four sportsbaseball, baseball, baseball, and track. H-e later served in the U.S. Army as a second Lieutenant. On April 1-5, 1947, Robinson became the first African-american player to get a Major League Baseball team. He earned the Major-league minimum, $5000, his rookie year, while he also played first base (Robinson played second base for some of his career). To get a second standpoint, we know people glance at: this page is not affiliated. Jackie Robinson played on six World Series groups, received six consecutive All-star Game nominations, and won the National League MVP award in 1949. Get further on this affiliated wiki by visiting the internet. H-e retired on January 5, 1957, and became a political activist until his death on October 2-4, 1972. Robinson was posthumously awarded the Congressional Gold Medal and the Presidential Medal of Freedom for his key role in the American Civil Rights movement. Major League Baseball retired his jersey number, 42, on April 1-5, 1997, on the 50th anniversary of his debut.

Following the 1957 year, the Brooklyn Dodgers controversially moved to Los Angeles. The World Series has been won by the Los Angeles Dodgers five occasions since their move, in 1959, 1963, 1965, 1981, and 1988..

Comments are closed.